About the ECC

You will find here some general information about the ECC, the history of the tournament, the organization of the ECC community, the roll of honor and guestbook to leave your comments on!

In general – an overview
ECC stands short for European Controllers Cup. The European Controllers’ Cup Competition is a football tournament held every year, organized from air traffic controllers for Air Traffic Controllers, throughout Europe. The tournament has been in existence, in one form or another, since the end of the 1960s. Each year, controllers from a different air traffic control unit all over Europe take the responsibility, to organize the football competition. Meanwhile the community has grown to 55 teams, from all over Europe plus New York. The tournament is normally held with 40 teams, around 1000 people every year. The opportunity to meet ATC personnel, old friends and rivals, visit different centers, and countries is equally important as the football. As you will see in the history, soon the tournament grew larger and larger, attracting more and more football playing air traffic controllers.

The history of the ECC

Early 1960’s Air Traffic Control centers from all over Europe
compete in several annual football tournaments against each other
1968 ACC Hanover (Germany) organize the first official ECC tournament.
1973 The ECC becomes so popular that it is found necessary to form an international committee whose task it is, to solve problems and assist the organizing committees
1979 Written guidelines and regulations are necessary. A
questionnaire is circulated with the objective to produce an ECC Manual
1980 The ECC Manual is presented and the first ECC Executive Committee (EC) is installed
1981 A “Fair Play” Trophy is presented, donated by
Maastricht UAC (Netherlands)
1982 The Plate Competition (“B”-competition) is
introduced. The “Plate Trophy” is donated by IFATCA
1992 The “W. Anchor” Trophy is presented by
Brindisi ACC (Italy) for the last placed team
1999 The “Spirit of the ECC” Trophy is presented
by Karlsruhe UAC (Germany) for the team which, in the opinion of the organizing committee, typifies most the friendliness, sociability, helpfulness and co-operation of the ECC
2009 The Vase Trophy is introduced for the winner of the “W. Anchor” competition (“C” competition)

Presently the ECC works its way with an average of 40 participating teams and about 1000 participants.

The organization of the ECC community
The community is managed by a committee of five, who are elected at the Annual General Meeting (the Captains’ Meeting) of the teams.
In the present form the EC exists since 1980. The EC is elected every three years and has the task of, among other things, assisting the organizing committee, resolving disputes, advising teams of necessary information and checking facilities of a potential host to ensure, that they are of satisfactory standard. All committee members are volunteers.

Present Executive Committee members (2023-2025)

  • Andrea  Quercia, President, Team Milan, Italy
  • Cornelia Klee, Treasurer, Team Maastricht, Holland
  • Paul Joules, Secretary, Team London, England
  • Marco Tavares, Team Faro/Santa Maria/Porto, Portugal
  • Andreas Helms, Team Copenhagen, Denmark










  • For his outstanding service and contribution to the ECC, Mr. Jan van Eck, Team Maastricht, Netherlands, was elected Honorary Life President of the ECC.
  • At the Captains Meeting 2010 (Bordeaux) by EC’s proposal, the captains decided to elect Mr. Allan Beattie, for his outstanding 12 year service and contribution to the ECC,  Honorary Life President of the ECC

The tournament itself is organized by volunteer ATC-Staff, who build up an Organizing Committee (OC). This OC usually consists of 8 to 12 people. The OC has to provide accommodation, playing facilities, referees, medical assistance, transportation (if required) and organize the fare well party.